Vidya Josephs Blog

Aaah Neruda…

Posted on: ಜುಲೈ 1, 2009

There is something about this mans poetry that gets to me. Not surprisingly I hadnt even heard of him till about a couple of years ago, caught up as I was with the everyday mundane happenings-on in Shimoga. And then the drastic, heart-wrenching decision to give up reporting and to take up (what then seemed to me) as a boring, tedious, routine teaching job!!! I had never ever wanted to teach, I had decided as a teen that I would become a journalist and thats what I did become. Call it fate, (mis)fortune or whatever, I had to opt for a teaching assignment. Its almost three years now and I have slowly, slowly realised that I love this …. what shall I call it – job? profession? vocation? or just life?
Neruda is the most haseen part of this new life of mine. I still remember the first lines of his poem sent to me as an sms attachment by a friend…

I do not love you as if you were salt-rose, or topaz,
……
I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul.

The immediacy of emotion in his poems is what strikes me each time I read him. The passion and despair that reaches out to you in one of his most famous poems Tonight I Can Write the Saddest Lines is perhaps incomparable in world literature. Read these lines and you will realise what I mean..

Tonight I can write the saddest lines
I loved her, and sometimes she loved me too…

Through nights like this one I held her in my arms
I kissed her again and again under the endless sky…

Tonight I can write the saddest lines….
To hear the immense night, still more immense without her
And the verse falls to the soul like dew to the pasture…..

The same night whitening the same trees
We, of that time, are no longer the same…

Love is so short, forgetting is so long

Neruda s poems are not just about love. He was passionately committed to leftist politics and his works reflect the political struggle of the left and the social, political and historical developments in South America.
One of my other favourites is the stingingly sarcastic To the Dead Poor Man. where Neruda annhilates the Christian celebration of the poor and the meek.
Why I started writing on Neruda is because of Bageshrees translations of some Neruda poems in her blog. And of course, classes began today and I get to introduce Neruda to a host of students from different backgrounds!!

6 Responses to "Aaah Neruda…"

nanaguu neruda tumba ishta. niivu avananenesikondiddu oLLeyaddayitu. nerudana translations naanuu odabekalla
bredaddakke thanks

ramu – bageshri neruda translations madtha iddare – avara blognalli.. bageshree.wordpress.com – odi nodi.

never heard of him, my dear…. maybe i should start reading him now!!

Though I had heard a lot about Neruda..I had never read him.
I think Ramzan Darga has translated some of his poems.

has he? i would love to read them..

ya, some of his revolutionary poems

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

  • ಯಾವುದೂ ಇಲ್ಲ

ವಿಭಾಗಗಳು